SuperPowers

The movie Superman was just released a few weeks ago and it started me thinking.  If you could have a SuperPower, what would it be?  Laser vision, to fly, leap tall buildings is a single bound?  I actually found a Superpower Database with a list of all the superpowers: http://www.superherodb.com/powers.php.  Really?  Really?  In a society where we are Super Moms, working a full-time job outside the home AND a full-time job at home.  Or full-time moms AND full-time home school moms (More power to you, I could not do it.  Even with ALL the SuperPowers in the world!).  We are all so busy these days and it feels like we are always running on full steam ahead.  A few Super Hero powers would be nice wouldn’t they?  

So what about invisibility?  That might be a good one, huh?

I read recently that the one thing women fear most is being invisible.  To not be seen, to not be heard, to not be listened to.  Do you ever feel that way?  I do.  Even found an article that it happens at age 46.  Great, just great.  Yesterday was my birthday and guess how old I was?  You guessed it, 46.  So poof!  Guess I am now officially invisible.  So what is it that makes us feel invisible?  And how can we combat it?

Not sure if there is one thing that we can put our finger on and say “Yes, that’s it, that is what makes me feel invisible.”, but a process of a lot of events and happenings.  But I do know how to combat it…with God’s Promises straight from His heart.

We are NEVER invisible to Him.  Because He made us exactly this way.  And for a specific purpose.  I remember a teenage boyfriend once told me I was “too emotional”, how’s that for a SuperPower?  Yes, I probably am at times.  But God made women emotional beings.  And we are created in their image right? Their being the Father, Son & Holy Spirit according to Genesis 1:26a  “Then God said, “Let us make mankind in our image, in our likeness…”  The “our” is the Trinity, and the image of them and their likeness created emotion.  So our emotions are attributes of God Himself, and the Son, Jesus and the Holy Spirit.  That is comforting to me.  

So remember His promises to YOU on those days, in those moments where you feel invisible.  And, tell someone how you feel.  Confide in a friend and tell her you are feeling invisible.  Chances are she feels or has felt the same.

So I don’t think that having SuperPowers is such a great idea after all, but thankful that my God is the best SUPER HERO that I could ever wish for.  

 

Can I get a big AMEN?  

 

One thought on “SuperPowers

  1. rkrumpe94 says:

    Yes, our superhero God! So true! Sometimes when I want to be invisible are the times when I need to reach out the most. Blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

