Elim

23 Then they came to a place called Marah, but the water there was so bitter that they could not drink it. That is why it was named Marah. 24 The people complained to Moses and asked, “What are we going to drink?” 25 Moses prayed earnestly to the LORD, and the LORD showed him a piece of wood, which he threw into the water; and the water became fit to drink. There the LORD gave them laws to live by, and there he also tested them. 26 He said, “If you will obey me completely by doing what I consider right and by keeping my commands, I will not punish you with any of the diseases that I brought on the Egyptians. I am the LORD, the one who heals you.” 27 Next they came to Elim, where there were twelve springs and seventy palm trees; there they camped by the water.

So you may be asking what or where is Elim?  And why did I choose that as the title of my blog?  Well, glad you asked.

For the past few years I have felt that God was up to something in me.  I could not put my finger on it, but very excited about the possibilities.  Earlier this year He finally let me in on another piece of the puzzle, He is calling me to write and to speak.  Well, that is absolute proof that He definitely has a sense of humor.

You see, I have issues.  Revelation!  Nobody else on earth has issues, right?  I do.  The one I struggle with probably the most is rejection.  I have experienced many deep hurts throughout my life leaving my heart battered, bruised and scarred.  So when God told me that He wanted me to write and speak, I could not help but think, What?  No way!  Really God?  You want me to write and speak?  Really? Me?  You have to be joking?  Me with a hurt heart, you want me to open myself up to the possibility that I will be rejected and hurt by writing and speaking.  What the heck do you think you are doing God?

But as much as I want to argue with Him that He is nuts, I have to trust that He knows what He is doing.  Especially since He has proven Himself faithful in so many other things in my life.  There have been times in my life that I thought there was no way possible that I could make it through.  And I did.  But ONLY because He was there with me every second.  Did it mean it was easy, NO WAY!  Did it mean it did not hurt, NO!  Did it mean I learned my lesson?  Sometimes I didn’t.  And there will be many tough lessons ahead.  But I am so thankful for His Grace and Mercy.

So I embraced this crazy notion of what He has for me, and began praying for His guidance in what it may look like.  Years ago I had read about the children of Israel’s journey after leaving Egypt.  At one part they began complaining about being thirsty so they were led to Marah, which means bitter, because the water there was bitter.  There God used Moses to turn the water sweet for them to drink.  After that He led them to Elim, where there were 70 palm trees and 12 springs.  How wonderful!  That even though they complained and were bitter, God led them to a wonderful place where they were renewed and refreshed.

 I ask that you please pray for me on my journey.  Because I believe you can never have too much prayer.  

Leave a Reply

